Federal Duck Stamp

Duck Stamp 2023
September 15-16

more than $1.1 billion for the acquisition and preservation of more than 6 million acres of wildlife habitat

Drake University to host the 2023 Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp Art Contest

A special Duck Stamp 2023 invitation from President “Marty” Martin

Official Drake University Press Release

Links to USFWS site and 2023 Duck Stamp Contest information:



Listen to the story of the first Federal Duck Stamp in Darling’s own words.

An article from 1935 detailing Darling’s argument for the preservation of the wildlife resources as a solution to the declining duck population.

In a spirit of bipartisanship, Republican Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell and Democratic Governor Andy Beshear announced the approval of federal “Duck Stamp” funding for land acquisition to expand Green River National Wildlife Refuge in Henderson County, Kentucky.

Duck Stamp 2023 Honorary Committee Members

Earl Martin, President, Drake University
Christopher “Kip” and Andrea Koss, Darling’s grandson and his wife, Andrea Koss
Carolyn C. Hunter
Rich & Nancy Houk, Canvasback Galleries
Brad and Carolyn Reece
Mark and Barb Reece
Patricia Fralick, Darling Legacy Development
Jason Norris, Darling Legacy Media
Brigitte R. Koltinsky, Artist
Adam Putnam, CEO, Ducks Unlimited
Collin O’Mara, President/CEO, National Wildlife Federation
John Organ, Former Chief, USGS Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units
Dale Hall, Former CEO, Ducks Unlimited
Steve Williams, President, Wildlife Management Institute
Ron Regan, Executive Director, Association Fish and Wildlife Agencies
Will Crossley, President, Piney Woods School

Drake University’s Steering Committee for 2023 Duck Stamp Contest

John Smith, Vice President for Advancement, Drake University
Erica Hartschen, Assistant to the Vice President, Drake University
Samuel Koltinsky, Jay N. Darling Legacy, Chairperson, Drake University Federal Duck Stamp Contest 2023
Alanna Wuensch, Student Representative, Drake University
Keith Summerville, Professor of Environmental Science, Director, Jay N. Darling Institute for Rural Sustainability , Drake University
Hope Bibens, Director of University Archives & Special Collections, Drake University
Ashton Hockman, Associate Director of Campus Communications, Drake University
Matt Miller, University Events Manager, Drake University
Betsy White, Assistant University Events Manager, Drake University